Dapper Dan Club Dinner
Pittsburgh Hilton Hotel
February 5, 1961

District Award Winners Honored at DD's Luncheon

News Photo

TOPS - Here are some of the Pittsburgh district sportsmen honored for their parts in promoting variouis athletic endeavers during the past year by the Post-Gazette Dapper Dan Club at a luncheon in the Variety Club yesterday. They are, clockwise, John Brannan, Sr., bowling; Gus Brickner, swimming; Harry Keck, general contributions to all sports; Capt. Bill McMillan, Olympic target pistol champion; Joe Zerilla, general sports; Dave Fawcett, officials; Larry Bruno; coach of the Beaver Falls High School WPIAL football champion; Regis (Toy) Graff, auto racing; John Reger, professional football, and Johnny Burke, amateur sports. Dapper Dan dinner will be held tonight at the Hilton Hotel.

Dapper Dans Honor Sports Heroes Tonight

A star-studded array of the greatest names in sports will be put on display tonight before approximately 2,200 guests at the Hilton Hotel Ball Room and hundreds of thousands of television viewers when the Post-Gazette Dapper Dan Club's Silver Anniversary Dinner is presented at 8:30 p.m. over Channel 11, W11C.

Despite the severe cold weather of the past few days, an overflow crowd is expected in the ball room and the adjoining dining rooms. This will make the party the largest sports affair ever held in this country.

Dick Groat, the National League's Most Valuable Player and batting champion last year, and Arnold Palmer, National Open and Masters Champion in 1960, are to be co-honored as dual winners of the annual Dapper Dan Award for the sports figures who did most to publicize the Pittsburgh District.

Groat will be on hand while, Palmer, who is currently in the Desert Classic tournament on the West Coast, will miss the party since he is still in contention for the top money.

Groat will accept both awards to be presented by Al Abrams, Post-Gazette sports editor and national president of the Dapper Dan Club.

The Pittsburgh Pirates first pennant in 33 years and the explosive triumph over the New York Yankees in the World Series will share top-billing. Besides Groat, ten other Bucco players will be presented handsome trophies.

The ten who will be honored for either helping to win the pennant or the series are:

Bill Mazeroski, Don Hoak, Elroy Face, Hal Smith, Vernon Law, Harvey, Haddix, Wilber "Vinegar Bend" Mizell, Bill Virdon, Bob Friend and Rocky Nelson

In addition, Manager Danny Murtaugh, General Manager Joe L. Brown, John Galbreath and Tom Johnson, will receive special citations presented by William Block, publisher of the Post-Gazette, on behalf of the Dapper Dan Club

The Yankees won't be forgotten. Two of their series' stalwarts, Roger Maris and "Moose" Skowron, will be honored. Also present will be Ralph Houk, the man who succeeded Casey Stengel as manager.

Another highlight of the affair is the induction of Bill McKechnie, former Pirate manager who won four pennants with three different clubs, and Marshall Goldberg, an All-American at Pitt two different years, into Pittsburgh's Hall of Fame.

Some of the other greats in sports who will be present and honored include Rafer Johnson, Olympic Decathlon champion in Rome last year; Joe Bellino, Navy's All-America halfback who won the Maxwell Trophy and the Heisman Award; Stan Musial for his contributions to baseball; Murray Warmath, 1960's College Coach of the Year from Minnesota.

Others include Wilt (The Stilt) Chamberlain, Norman Van Brocklin, Johnny Unitas, Gene (Big Daddy) Lipscomb, Paul Hornung, Chuck Bednarik, Kyle Rote, Bill George, the latter seven all big stars in the National Pro League. Also attending will be Pete Rozell, the NFL's young commissioner.

Umpire John (Jock) Conlan will be signally honored for 20 years in the National League. Four brother umpires also will be on hand to pay him tribute. They are Augie Donatelli, Vinnie Smith, Tony Venzon and Ed Vargo.

Four Pro coaches, Buddy Parker, Bill McPeak, Nick Skorich and Van Brocklin will be at the guest table as well as Art Rooney, owner of the Steelers and Art Lewis assistant coach.

The collegiate world will be represented by Dan Devine, highly-successful Missouri University coach; Jordan Olivar, who led Yale to its first unbeaten season in 33 years; Wayne Hardin, who Navy team shared Lambert Trophy honors with Yale as the best in the East - Rip Engle, Johnny Michelosen, Frank Carver, Doc Skender, Ernie McCoy, Eddie Hirshberg, Al DeLuca.

Bill Veeck, Branch Rickey Sr., Tommy Richardson, president of the International League, and Judge Robert C. Cannon, major league players' legal representative, will be at the dais.

The boxing world will offer several top names in Mickey Walker, the famed "Toy Bulldog" and champion of the past; Nat Fleisher, Carmen Basilio, the ex-welter and middleweight king; Sonny Liston, the No. 1, heavyweight contender, Anton Christoforidis, Billy Conn, Fritzle Zivic, Cuddy DeMarco and Charley Affif.

Fourteen district award winners who were honored yesterday at a luncheon in the Variety Club will be introduced to the audience. They include:

Mike Ditka, Marine Captain Bill McMillan, an Olympics shooting champion; Dick Hoak, Tom Tracy, John Reger, Dave Fawcett, Johnny Burke, Harry Keck, Larry Bruno, John Bruno, Joe Zerilla, Gus Brickner, John F. Brannan, Sr., and Regis C. Graff.

Other top guests include Governor David L. Lawrence, Mayor Joseph M. Barr, Dean Moor, Canon Wilson, Rabbi Harold Silver, Keith Morris, Dan Galbreath, Pie Traynor, Wilbur Cooper, Tom Davies, Argentina Rocca, Franke Thomas, Ronnie Kline, Bob Purkey, John Henry Johnson, Larry Krutko, George Tarasovic, Jimmy Orr, Goose McClaireon, Charley Scales, Red Manning, Butler Hennon, Rex Peery, Ed McCluskey, Pete Dimperio, Joe Walton, Paul Smith, Bud Jeannette, Professor Milton Moss.

Mal Alberts, WHC Sports Director, will act as master of ceremonies. General Chairman Dr. William D. McClelland says doors to the big ball room will open at 5:30 p. m. with dinner served promptly at 6 o'clock

The televised end of the program sponsored by the Pepsi-Cola Dealers of Western Pennsylvania will start at 8:30 p.m.

The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, Sunday, February 5, 1961

Program Program Program Program Program Program Program Program Program Program

Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict